Rods 'n' Sods - UK Hot Rod & Street Rod Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just thought some of you would like to see this, I dedicate a few hours a week to help out at the De Havilland Museum at London Colney, near St Albans.
Its the birthplace of the mossie and they have lots of aircraft down there including 3 mosquitos, the original prototype (undergoing full resto), a bomber, (restored but not to flying condition) and a fighter bomber which is what I am helping out with at the moment (i.m a chippy by trade and the whole thing is made of wood).
It is run by a bunch of very enthusiastic old boys who are all volunteers and do it for the love.
If anyone could spare a few hours now and again they would be pleased to see you, or maybe go to the museum as a paying customer, its only a fiver and they need all the money they can get!
Open the first sunday in March onwards.
Thanks for looking

·
Premium Member
2,289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I take it there are no airworthy mosquitos left in the world?
The last airworthy one sadly crashed at an airshow near Bolton in 1996 I believe, both pilots were tragically killed (there is some footage on youtube). There is a guy in New Zealand is building one from scratch, reckons it should be ready to fly sometime this year. There is also an original mossie again in NZ that is being restored to full flying condition, and that one is a few years off completion.

·
Registered
12,503 Posts
Thanks for posting - always intended visting - see it from M25!

·
Premium Member
2,087 Posts